Malloy makes big finish in cross country season

Semi-state was Saturday, October 23 at Brown County. SHS Junior, Ashley Malloy, finished 42nd in the semi-state race. Although that doesn’t qualify her going to state, she still beat her personal record of 20:19.  Ashley’s goal for this season, and the rest of her career is to get under 20 minutes.

Qualifying for semi-state required placing in the top 15 in the race, and Malloy placed 7th. “I’m really excited and really nervous to go to semi state this year, I feel like I really have a chance to place for state,” said Ashley. This is Malloy’s third year going to semi-state.

“I really like to run,” said Malloy. “I started running when I was six,” Malloy remembers, “I was running in the Buffalo Trace race, and I got first place. I remember I was crying because my legs hurt so bad.” Ashley averages about 40 miles per week just in practicing. Malloy is very dedicated to staying healthy and in shape for all her races. “I try to eat really healthy, but of course it’s really hard. I pack my lunch and eat a lot of fruits and vegetables and stay away from caffeine. But the week before the race, I load up on carbs.”

Ashley’s favorite course is the course at BNL. “I’ve ran my best time at BNL. It’s a 3.1 mile course, and I ran a 20:19. I was really happy.” Ashley has a few critiques about our home course. “It is way too hilly and there are no trees for shade!” said Ashley. “But the worse course is the Paoli course by far.”

Ashley’s best memory is one from a meet this season. After Kyle Taylor threw a large water balloon at her, at which she then threw a pie in his face for it. Malloy also has a nickname from cross country: Pop tart. “I would always pop my knees and ankles before every race, so they started calling my pop tart,” she said.

Ashley Malloy

You must be logged in to post a comment.

