Paul Movie Review

At first I didn’t have high hopes for this movie. When I saw the trailer, I gave a resounding “mehhh”, I actually almost didn’t go and see it. I finally broke down and went over spring break, and I must say, I was happily surprised with what I saw.

Paul tells the story of two nerds on vacation to America from England to attend Comic-Con in San Diego. They rent a motorhome and set out to take a tour of several popular UFO sites in the American southwest. Little did they know that they would get more than they bargained for when they meet Paul, an alien that escaped from Area 51 and is on the run from the government, who wants to cut out his brain. What follows is a hilarious roadtrip comedy involving bumbling FBI agents, sinister g-men, bible tote’n shotgun wield’n rednecks, and more sci-fi references than just about anyone could get.
Paul himself is not your typical alien. He is a foulmouthed, smoking jerk that takes great joy in being as abrasive as he possibly can. Most of the time, this is a good thing, and very funny, but at other times it got on my nerves a little.

My biggest complaint about the movie is that it (ironically) got very preachy against religion. Personally, I am not religious, but it still made me slightly mad that they wasted so much potential material, instead just going the whole “duhh, Christians are stupid! and ignorant!” And it wasn’t just one or two scenes, but many. It wasn’t a movie killer for me, just a minor quibble that didn’t really prevent me from enjoying the rest of the movie. So, if you are easily offended by such things, you might want to stay away from it, but otherwise it shouldn’t be much of an issue.

Final Thoughts:

A strong comedy not quite on par with the likes of Shaun of the Dead, but one of the best comedies so far this year.

8/10

Rated R

About Joshua Dean

Editor-in-Chief of The Cub View all posts by Joshua Dean

You must be logged in to post a comment.

