“Lion King” in 3D doesn’t roar as loudly as the original movie

by Heather Nale

 

I’ve always been a rather large Disney fan, even now as I’m approaching my seventeenth birthday. “The Lion King” has always been my go-to movie for boring nights, so when I learned it was coming to theaters in 3D for only two weeks, I immediately cleared my schedule.

Leading up to the event, it was all I could talk about. I could only dream about the way the stampede would run out into the audience, the way the birds would attack the viewers and the way Scar struck fear into the hearts of all movie goers.

The theater was a mix of children, teens and adults. Everyone had on their geeky 3D glasses and the excitement was evident. The movie began with all the animals gathering around Pride Rock to greet Simba. It wasn’t that impressive, until the birds flew. The birds really flew out into the theater, and that’s when I got really excited.

There were very few parts that were extremely three dimensional. I really expected the song “I Just Can’t Wait to be King” to really pop, but it wasn’t spectacular. The same happened with the popular number, “Hakuna Matata.”

Probably the most three dimensional part of the movie was the rainfall after the intense battle between Scar and Simba toward the end. I actually ducked down because I thought I was going to get wet, much to the amusement of the friends I went with.

Overall, I think the 3D effects could have been more prominent and more scenes could have stood out. It really wasn’t much different than watching it on my home television.


One response to ““Lion King” in 3D doesn’t roar as loudly as the original movie

You must be logged in to post a comment.