Fleenor takes challenge as new addition to wrestling team

by Jessica Fleenor

Imagine doing something you would never really fit into. Well, welcome to my world. I joined the wrestling team and not many girls really do that, since it’s a contact sport. I can’t really give and explanation to why I really joined, but I always love to try new things.

A lot of people think I should be concerned about being injured or the guys grabbing me. I’m not really concerned with the whole being injured part, but when people ask me about slipping hands then I guess my knees can accidently slip a few times.

The first practice I went to was the easiest I’ve done so far. The practices are getting more difficult every time we have it. This is supposed to be the easy round. No matter what, I’m not going to give it all I got. Actual practice doesn’t start until October 31. Until then I need to get prepared.

When the coach and the assistant coach finally found out who the girl participating this year, me, I got the WHOA! reaction from both of them  with a “You’re a pretty big girl; you’ll be able to hold your own.” The coaches said that they see great expectations from me.

Some of the boys on the team were kind of intimidated when they found out that I was joining. Ryan and Rob Engle were telling people that they weren’t going to wrestle with me and stay out of my way. Considering that most people say that anyway, it still shocks me.

In my third practice Jake Mclemore said he wasn’t going to take it easy on me. Since I’m the only girl on the team, I especially do not look for special treatment at all. I want to be considered with the rest of them. I don’t want this to be easy. I came to prove to myself that I could do this and I plan to stick with it for the rest of my time in high school.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

