“Footloose” brings modern dancing into an 80’s classic

by Anna Katherine LaHue

Who can play Ren MacCormack? There is only one answer. Kevin Bacon. The new “Footloose” was released in theaters Oct. 14. I didn’t have any want or need to see this movie. I knew it could not in anyway live up to the original. I did however get conned into seeing “Footloose”, and it was not as bad as I thought it would be.


Ren MacCormack, played by Kenny Wormald, stayed true to his original character.  I was pleased they kept the basic storyline of the first movie. Kenny Wormald has had past experience in other dance filled movies such as; “Clerks II”, “Center Stage: Turn It Up”, and “You Got Served”. Having this past experience I can’t help but wonder why Wormald was so awkward in the cotton mill scene. The cotton mill scene should be filled with anger and hatred, and be reflected in the dance, but it wasn’t. This scene was more just Wormald thrusting his body around. I don’t feel like it had the same depth as the first one. Kenny would have the angry for a second, and then lose it. It was a decent try, but didn’t live up to my expectations.
I was, however, happy to see that director Craig Brewer kept Willard, played by Miles Teller, learning to dance along to the song “Let’s Hear it for the Boy”.  If Willard learned to dance to any other song I would have lost total respect for the movie.
Julianne Hough acted better than I expected her to in any movie. Having said that I wish the movie would have stayed to true to more professional dancing.  I would have liked to see more of the professional ball room dancer Julianne Hough come out in this movie. I feel like all the choreographer did was say, “Here are some booty shorts and a tight little shirt, now go shake your butt and dry hump a drive in speaker.” This movie had so much modern dancing I felt like it took away from the movie. They had dancers just walking around like gangsters. That is not dancing and anyone, especially Julianne Hough, should know that is not dancing. With all Hough’s talent and experience on dancing with the stars I just wish some of that could have came out in the movie, but all classic dancing was replaced with sultriness. All in all I would rate this movie a 6 out of 10 stars.

One response to ““Footloose” brings modern dancing into an 80’s classic

  • mercadeo

    The subject matter itself seems ill adapted to an update. How do you make a current movie about a town outlawing dancing and rock ‘n roll? We know that rock is here to stay, and evolve into punk and hip-hop.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

